Conditioning polyamide

Polyamide moulded are manufactured in a dry state (share of water < 0.2%) and are therefore dry and brittle after production. The properties of polyamide moulds must therefore be enhanced with regard to impact strength, firmness and rigidity prior to use.

If dry polyamide is exposed to a controlled moist environment, the polymer structure may retain water molecules due to the high polarity of the groups of carboxylic acid amides. This process is referred to as conditioning, is reversible and is performed based on a state of equilibrium. The polyamide products require specific moisture to achieve satisfactory mechanical properties.

Polyamide products are frequently conditioned to a state of equilibrium, which corresponds to a climate of 23℃ and 50% relative humidity. The water absorption is about 3% depending on the type of polyamide or share of amide groups. The process we use, however, extremely accelerates the water absorption and the state of equilibrium is achieved much faster without the unwanted loss in product quality through water stains and discolouration.

1. Is there also an alternative to the water bath conditioning?

WEISSHAAR conditioning chambers offer excellent and proven procedures. The dry and sensitive polyamide parts are stored in the climatic chamber. In contrast to water bath conditioning, they can be gently conditioned in a predictable and reproducible manner to the desired equilibrium moisture content.

2. Are there conditioning chambers especially designed for the quantity and types of polyamide?

Our conditioning chambers for polyamides are precisely designed and manufactured to satisfy the demands of the respective conditioning task.

3. How is a conditioning chamber designed?

The isolation cell consists of foamed polyurethane with a vapour-tight, chrome-nickel steel sheet on the inside. The cell is sufficiently secure and isolated, prevents condensation and is designed for large number of batches.

4. How are the necessary climate values generated for the conditioning process?

Any desired climate value can be reliably achieved within strict tolerances using the optimised air supply system and the integrated steam humidification system. The steam generator is only pressurised with softened or demineralised water. The generated steam is therefore free of minerals as well as odourless and prevents lime deposits on the moulded polyamide parts.

5. Can the conditioning also be interrupted in a targeted manner and can the chamber be promptly reloaded?

In addition to a heater for the high climate values, our polyamide chambers are fitted on request with equipment to interrupt the moisture process in a targeted manner after the conditioning period. This allows the conditioning chamber to be reloaded for an optimum number of batches.

6. How easy is it to operate and document batches?

WEISSHAAR conditioning chambers feature a high-performance programmable logic controller with a connected control panel. The control panel allows users to conveniently enter all process data, such as the temperature and humidity. Furthermore, it also possible to create graphic and numeric documentation of all product batches. This also ensures a constant and controllable high product quality for different batches.

Konditionierung Polyamid

Formteile aus Polyamid werden im trockenen Zustand (Anteil Wasser < 0,2%) hergestellt und sind folglich nach der Fertigung trocken und spröde. Die Gebrauchseigenschaften von Polyamid-Teilen müssen daher vor der Verwendung und Beanspruchung der Produkte hinsichtlich Schlagzähigkeit, Festigkeit und Steifigkeit verbessert werden.

Wird trockenes Polyamid einer kontrolliert feuchten Umgebung ausgesetzt, so vermag die Polymerstruktur aufgrund der hohen Polarität der Carbonsäureamidgruppen Wassermoleküle einzulagern. Dieser Vorgang wird Konditionieren genannt, ist reversibel und erfolgt anhand eines Gleichgewichtzustandes. Erst die gezielte Auffeuchtung von Polyamid-Produkten führt zu befriedigenden mechanischen Eigenschaften.

Oft werden Produkte aus Polyamid auf den Gleichgewichtszustand konditioniert, der einem Klima von 23℃ und 50% r.F. entspricht. Die Wasseraufnahme entspricht je nach Polyamid-Typ bzw. Anteil der Amidgruppen ca. 3%. Durch das von uns eingesetzte Verfahren wird die Wasseraufnahme jedoch extrem beschleunigt und der Gleichgewichtszustand viel schneller erreicht, ohne ungewünschte Beeinträchtigung der Produktqualität durch Wasserflecken und Verfärbungen.

1. Gibt es auch eine Alternative zur Wasserbadkonditionierung?

Ein sehr gutes und bewährtes Verfahren bieten Konditionierkammern von WEISSHAAR. Die trockenen und empfindlichen Polyamidteile werden in die Klimakammer eingelagert und können im Vergleich zur Wasserbadkonditionierung schonend, prognostizierbar und reproduzierbar auf die gewünschte Gleichgewichtsfeuchte konditioniert werden.

2. Gibt es Konditionierkammern speziell für die Menge und dem Polyamidtypen?

Unsere Konditionierkammern für Polyamide werden genau auf den Bedarf der jeweiligen Konditionieraufgabe konstruiert und gefertigt.

3. Wie ist eine Konditionierkammer aufgebaut?

Die Isolierzelle besteht aus geschäumten Polyurethan mit einem dampfdiffusionsdichten Chromnickelstahlblech auf der Innenseite. Die Zelle ist ausreichend fest und isoliert, verhindert Tauwasserbildung und ist für hohe Chargenanzahl ausgelegt.

4. Wie werden die für die Konditionierung benötigten Klimawerte erzeugt?

Mit dem optimierten Zuluftsystem und dem integrierten Dampfbefeuchtungssystem kann jeder gewünschte Klimawert zuverlässig und in engen Toleranzen erreicht werden. Der Dampferzeuger wird nur mit enthärtetem bzw. vollentsalztem Wasser beaufschlagt. Der erzeugte Dampf ist daher mineralfrei und geruchlos und verhindert Kalkablagerungen auf den Polyamid-Formteilen.

5. Kann die Konditionierung auch gezielt abgebrochen werden und die Kammer zeitnah neu beschickt werden?

Neben einer Heizung für die hohen Klimawerte besitzen unsere Polyamid-Kammern auf Wunsch Einrichtungen, um nach der Konditionierzeit die Auffeuchtung gezielt zu unterbrechen und die Konditionierkammer für eine optimale Chargenzahl neu beschicken zu können.

6. Wie komfortabel ist die Bedienung und Dokumentation von Chargen?

WEISSHAAR-Konditionierkammern verfügen über eine leistungsstarke speicherprogrammierbare Steuerung mit angeschlossenem Bedienpanel. Das Bedienpanel ermöglicht die komfortable Eingabe aller Prozessdaten wie z.B. Temperatur und Feuchte. Darüber hinaus besteht die Möglichkeit der graphischen und nummerischen Dokumentation von sämtlichen Produktchargen. Auf diese Weise ergibt sich auch chargenübergreifend eine stets gleichbleibende und kontrollierbare hohe Produktqualität.